Rohit and Jos selected in ICC ODI Team of the Year.

The ICC announced its Test and ODI team of the year today selected by legendary cricketers Rahul Dravid, Gary Kirsten and Kumar Sangakkara. They selected the players based on their performances during the period from 14th September 2015 till 20th September 2016. The players selected in the ODI team for the above mentioned period in batting order are as follows-

1. David Warner (Australia)

2. Quinton de Kock (South Africa) (wicketkeeper)

3. Rohit Sharma (India)

4. Virat Kohli (India) (captain)

5. AB de Villiers (South Africa)

6. Jos Buttler (England)

7. Mitchell Marsh (Australia)

8. Ravindra Jadeja (India)

9. Mitchell Starc (Australia)

10. Kagiso Rabada (South Africa)

11. Sunil Narine (West Indies)

12. Imran Tahir (South Africa)

Our Rohit Sharma and Jos Buttler have been selected in the team and this is a proud moment for us. Rohit has been selected to bat in the number 3 position while Buttler has been selected to bat at number 6 position.
Rohit has played 10 matches during the above mentioned period and has scored 696 runs at a batting average of 77.33 and a batting strike rate of 100.86 with 3 centuries and 2 fifties. These are almost Bradmanesque stats and show why Rohit is so highly rated by critics in World cricket. The whole world knows of his pedigree as an ODI batsman and he has got a new lease of life ever since he started opening the batting for India on a consistent basis since January 2013. He is also the only batsman in ODI history to score 2 double centuries and what makes his achievement even more special is that he has done while opening the batting and facing the new bowlers from the opposition when they are at their freshest. His highest score during the above mentioned period was 171 not out against Australia at Perth on 12th January 2016.

During the same period Jos has played 17 matches and scored 605 runs at a batting average of 67.22 and a batting strike rate of 139.4 with 2 centuries and 3 fifties. If a minimum cut-off of 300 runs during this period is imposed then Jos has been the quickest scorer out of the 316 players who have played ODIs in this period. Even by the high standards that he has set, that is a phenomenal achievement and one that should make his fans proud. His highest score during this period was 116 not out against Pakistan at Dubai on 20th November 2015. He holds the record for the 3 fastest centuries by an Englishman in ODI history and the sky is the limit for this superstar. He also has another string to his bow with his wicket-keeping even though he has been selected in the team purely on the basis of his ability as a batsman.

It is a matter of great pride that 2 of our finest players have made it to such a prestigious list warding of stiff competition from other players. If both of them can continue their good form in the upcoming edition of the IPL then it will stand us in good stead and give us a great chance of becoming the first team to win the IPL for the 3rd time.

Until then, let us salute both of them for their prodigious achievements and revel in their glory.

Principal Sponsors

Associate Sponsors