All-round India torment Ireland, complete comprehensive series victory

Brief scores:

India: 213/4 (20)
KL Rahul 70 (36)
Suresh Raina 69 (45)
Hardik Pandya 32* (9)
Kevin O’Brien 3/40
Peter Chase 1/42

Ireland: 70 (12.3)
Gary Wilson 15 (18)
William Porterfield 14 (11)
Kuldeep Yadav 3/16
Yuzvendra Chahal 3/21

Gary Wilson won his second straight toss and asked Virat Kohli’s men to bat first. India made as many as four changes. KL Rahul came in for Shikhar Dhawan, Dinesh Karthik replaced MS Dhoni behind the stumps, Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar made way for Siddharth Kaul and Umesh Yadav.

The management decided to make a change at the top too. Virat Kohli walked out with KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma was pushed down the order. Kohli looked tentative during his stay and departed for only 9, top-edging Peter Chase to George Dockrell at deep square leg.

Suresh Raina joined forces with KL Rahul and the duo did not the let the early dismissal of Virat Kohli hinder their intentions. India raced past the 50 run mark inside the first five overs.

Ireland’s bowlers struggled to find the proper line and kept bowling to Rahul on his pads who hardly missed a chance to punish them. India were scoring runs at a brisk pace and soon, blazed past the 100-run mark in 10 overs.

Rahul brought up his half-century in just 28 balls with a six over fine leg to Boyd Rankin with Suresh Raina playing second fiddle. Gary Wilson brought Kevin O’Brien with a hope to break the stand and his man delivered. Kevin bagged two big wickets in the same over, removing the high-flying KL Rahul for 70 and our skipper Rohit Sharma for a second ball duck.

Suresh Raina took the task to rebuild upon himself and added 41 runs for the 4th wicket along with Manish Pandey before falling to Kevin O’Brien for 69.

Manish Pandey was struggling to time the ball and Hardik Pandya had the license to go for the kill. Pandya came in, waited for a ball and played a completely contrasting knock, adding 32 runs in no time to stun Ireland. His quick cameo included 4 sixes and an assurance that took India past the 200-run mark.

Defending 213 for a series victory, Umesh Yadav struck as soon as the second ball of the innings, removing Paul Stirling (0). William Porterfield (14) showed some intent, hitting Umesh Yadav out of the park before being cleaned up on the next delivery, trying to play a cheeky sweep.

Ireland’s man-in-form, James Shannon (2), couldn’t impress in this chase and became Siddharth Kaul’s first international dismissal. Hardik Pandya also contributed with the ball, dismissing the big Kevin O’Brien (0).

India’s spin-twins tightened the screws breaking Ireland’s back with the run-chase going haywire. Chahal got rid of Balbirnie (9) and Simi Singh (0) with Ireland reduced to 36/6.

Skipper Gary Wilson’s (15) resistance came to a halt when Kuldeep Yadav beat with him an absolute peach. George Dockrell (4), Stuart Thompson (13) and Boyd Rankin (10) couldn’t add much as India bowled out Ireland for 70 registering a massive 143 run victory.

Associate Sponsors

Official Partners