India announce 15-man World Cup squad for 2019

India announced their 15-member provisional squad for the 2019 Cricket World Cup in England on Monday. The Men in Blue’s Mission 2019 will be led by skipper Virat Kohli, while our very own Hitman Rohit Sharma will be the team’s vice-captain. Besides Rohit, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah are the two other players from the Mumbai Indians’ squad that will be a part of India’s World Cup quest.

Former skipper MS Dhoni and Dinesh Karthik will be the wicket-keeping options, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami, have been entrusted to support Bumrah in the pace department. Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav will be the options for the spinner’s role in the playing XI while Hardik, Vijay Shankar and Ravindra Jadeja will be gunning for the all-rounder’s spot.

Batsmen: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Kedar Jadhav

All-rounders: Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Vijay Shankar

Wicket-keepers: MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik

Bowlers: Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav

The Men in Blue will play their opening match of the tournament against South Africa on Wednesday, June 5.