Jadeja, Rohit outclass Bangladesh

Brief scores:

Bangladesh 173 (49.1)
Mehidy Hasan 42
Mashrafe Mortaza 26
Ravindra Jadeja 4/29

India 174/3 (36.2)
Rohit Sharma 83*
Shikhar Dhawan 40
Rubel Hossain 1/21

India outlcassed Bangladesh by 7 wickets thanks to a 4-wicket haul from Ravindra Jadeja and Rohit Sharma’s composed 83-run unbeaten knock at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on September 23.

Rohit Sharma won the coin toss and opted to chase with Ravindra Jadeja replacing an injured Hardik Pandya. Bangladesh brought their main men — Mushfiqur Rahim and Mustafizur Rahman back.

Bangladesh didn’t start as bad as what Pakistan did but lost their openers cheaply. Bhuvneshwar Kumar bounced out Liton Das before Jasprit Bumrah had Nazmul Shanto Hossain flashing to a ball outside off which was caught by Dhawan at first slip in his second attempt.

Shakib Al-Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahman decided to bail Bangladesh out of early trouble and were oncourse seeing Kumar and Bumrah off. Hasan was hitting the ball and countered Jadeja’s spin with a couple of boundaries before Dhoni suggested a field change to skipper Rohit. Dhawan went to square leg and Chahal had Hasan sweeping straight to him.

Jadeja further hurt Bangladesh when he trapped Mithun plumb but the real problem started when Mushfiqur went to play a cheeky reverse sweep and ended up throwing his wicket to leave Bangladesh in all sorts of trouble.

Mahmudullah and Mosaddek frustrated India from there on. They added 36 runs from 15-odd overs before Bhuvneshwar Kumar got the much-needed breakthrough. Mahmudullah was trapped by Kumar and four balls later, Mosaddek fell to Jadeja with Bangladesh being reduced to 101/7.

India’s problems to clean up the tail surfaced again when Mehidy Hasan along with his skipper Mashrafe Mortaza. They had a clear intention to take it deep with Mortaza and Hasan rotating the strike.

Mortaza stepped on the gas, hit Bhuvneshwar Kumar for two successive sixes and fell on the third delivery. Bumrah from the other end got rid of Mehidy and Mustafizur as Bangladesh folded for a paltry 173.

Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan got India off to a perfect start. India had Dhawan playing the aggressor’s role with Bangladesh bowling with a certain plan to Rohit. Mehidy provided no air and Mustafizur bowled to him without much room.

But Rohit was content to keep the scoreboard ticking as India got past the 50-run mark in the 10th over. Bangladesh introduced Shakib who got them their first breakthrough. Dhawan, trying to play a sweep missed the line of the ball and fell lbw.

Rayudu joined forces with Rohit who took the baton from Dhawan and kept dispatching the loose balls. He got to his half-century with a massive six over midwicket as India inched closer to the target.

India lost Ambati Rayudu to Rubel Hossain thanks to a smart review from Mushfiqur Rahim behind the stumps who heard an under-edge.

MS Dhoni came out to bat at number four and played second fiddle to Rohit who was playing in full control.

The duo added 64 runs for the third wicket before Dhoni perished trying to hit the glory shot, not before contributing with 33.

But Dinesh Karthik hit the winning runs to take India across the line with 82 balls to spare.

India next meet Pakistan in their second match of the Super Four on September 23.