MI Junior Cricket Tournament Day 10: Atharva, Prithvi set up Shardashram’s mammoth win

Shardashram Vidyamandir, Dadar showed its dominance with a massive 337-run win in their Under-16 Boys match of the Mumbai Indians Junior Cricket Tournament on Friday. Atharva Bhagat bowled them to victory at the Sassanian, Azad Maidan by taking a six-wicket haul.

The bowling effort came after Shardashram batsmen sent Vishwajyot bowlers to the cleaners by amassing 406/6 in 35 overs to give the impression that the wicket was a batting paradise. However, Bhagat showed his bowling prowess by giving regular jolts to the Vishwajyot batting line-up and hardly gave them anything away to pick the ‘Player of the Match’ title.

Eventually, the Vishwajyot batsmen succumbed under the pressure of the huge chase, getting bowled out for 69 runs in 23 overs.

Earlier, Prithvi Nair clobbered an exciting century to pave the way for the team's huge total in excess of 400. Nair scored 113 and was ably supported by Gaurav Vishwakarma (46) in his cause.

Azim Shaikh came up with yet another impressive bowling performance on the day to star in Anjuman-I-Islam English School, Vashi's easy eight-wicket win over Dhirubhai Ambani International School. Player of the Match, Shaikh took a five-wicket haul to limit the Dhirubhai Ambani boys to 81 all-out in 30 overs.

The target never tested the strong Anjuman batting line-up as Farhan Shaikh hammered an unbeaten 57 to guide his team to an emphatic win at the Parsee Cyclists pitch.

In the U-14 Boys match at BMC, Shivaji Park, Pranay Rana scored 137 not out to help Dr. Antonio D'Silva School, Dadar beat IES Raja Shivaji Vidyalaya, Dadar by 300 runs. Rana required just 102 balls to play an exciting innings as Dr. Antonio D'Silva posted a massive 419/3 in 36 overs on the board after batting first. Pranav Gupta chipped in with 75 runs. In response, IES Raja Shivaji Vidyalaya were bowled out for 119 in 31.4 overs.

At the Times of India pitch at Azad Maidan, Malhar Mane of Swami Vivekanand International School, Borivali played a swashbuckling knock of 72 runs in 47 balls against Holy Cross High School, Lower Parel in the boys U-16 category.

Mane cruised to an unbeaten 72 runs off 47 balls as Swami Vivekanand roared to a ten-wicket win in 15.2 overs over Holy Cross High School, Lower Parel who had scored 121/10 in 36.4 overs while batting first.

Brief Scores:

U-16 Boys:

Sassanian, Azad Maidan

Shardashram Vidyamandir (Dadar) 406/6 in 35 overs (Prithvi Nair 113, Gaurav Vishwakarma 46) beat Vishwajyot High School (Kharghar) 69/10 in 23 overs, by 337 runs.

Player of the Match: Atharva Bhagat of Shardashram Vidyamandir (Dadar) for taking 6 wickets.

Parsee Cyclists, Azad Maidan

Anjuman-I-Islam English School (Vashi) 85/2 in 12.3 overs (Farhan Shaikh 57*, Irfan Manihar 15*) beat Dhirubhai Ambani Int'l School 81/10 in 30 overs, by 8 wickets

Player of the Match: Azim Shaikh of Anjuman-I-Islam English School (Vashi) for taking 5 wickets and bowling 2 maiden overs.

Times of India, Azad Maidan

Swami Vivekanand International School (Borivali) 122/0 in 15.2 overs (Malhar Mane 72*, Ishaan Roy 43*) beat Holy Cross High School (Lower Parel) 121/10 in 36.4 overs, by 10 wickets.

Player of the Match: Malhar Mane of Swami Vivekanand International School (Borivali) for scoring 72 off 47 balls (not out)

New Era, Azad Maidan

Smt. Sulochanadevi Singhania School (Thane) 94/5 in 16.2 overs (Raj Jain 28, Gauresh Waghmare 22) beat Victoria High School 86/10 in 13.4 overs, by 8 runs.

Player of the Match: Arnav Wankhade of Smt. Sulochanadevi Singhania School (Thane) for taking 6 wickets.

Navroz, Azad Maidan

RN Podar Int'l School CBSE (Santacruz) 37/1 in 9.4 overs (Vansh Bajaj 14*, Adit Bahutule 10*) beat Balmohan Vidyamandir Eng. Med. (Dadar) 36/8 in 16.2 overs, by 9 wickets.

Player of the Match: Ness Malesrra of RN Podar Int'l School CBSE (Santacruz) for taking 5 wickets and bowling 3 maiden overs.

RTO, Azad Maidan

St. Anne's Convent School (Vasai) 259/7 in 38 overs (Manav Chauhan 51*, Yash Purohit 31*) beat NKES (Wadala) 31/9 in 12 overs, by 228 runs.

Player of the Match: Manav Chauhan of St. Anne's Convent School (Vasai) for scoring 51 runs off 50 balls (not out) and taking 4 wickets.

Elphinstone, Azad Maidan

IES Navi Mumbai High School (Vashi) 310/5 in 38 overs (Akash Pawar 50, Noor Sayyad 48*) beat Tree House High School (Virar) 58/10 in 23 overs, by 252 runs.

Player of the Match: Akash Pawar of IES Navi Mumbai High School (Vashi) for scoring 50 off 29 balls and 3 wickets.

Young Zoroastrian, Azad Maidan

Our Lady of Perpetual Succour High School 119/4 in 21.2 overs (Rahul Muthukrishnan 35, Aryan Agle 30*) beat St. Aloysius High School 118/10 in 32.5 overs, by 6 wickets.

Player of the Match: Rahul Muthukrishnan of Our Lady of Perpetual Succour High School for scoring 35 runs and 1 wicket.

U-14 Boys:

Shivaji Park Gymkhana, Shivaji Park

IES New English School (Bandra) 110/1 in 25.2 overs (Aarush patankar 38*, Arjun Bagaitkar 27) beat National English High School (Virar) 105/10 in 38 overs, by 9 wickets.

Player of the Match: Krish Parikh of IES New English School (Bandra) for 7 overs- 2 maiden- 14 runs- 3 wickets.

Kamath Memorial C.C., Shivaji Park

St. Stanislaus High School (Bandra) 91/1 in 14 overs (Arjun Jaiswal 42*, Malay Redkar 18*) beat SIES High School (Matunga) 90/10 in 24.5 overs, by 9 wickets.

Player of the Match: Farhan Khan of St. Stanislaus High School (Bandra) for taking 4 wickets.

Young Maharashtra, Shivaji Park

Shishuvan School (Matunga) 63/3 in 9.1 overs (Rishabh Karani 26*, Anmol Bohra 9*) beat Vibgyor High (Kharghar) 59/10 in 13.1 overs, by 7 wickets.

Player of the Match: Rishabh Karani for scoring 26* off 13 balls and taking 1 wicket.

Central Railway, Shivaji Park

CNMS (Vile Parle) 106/2 in 17.3 overs (Devansh Shah 44, Hriday Mehta 26*) beat St. Xavier's High School (Airoli) 104/10 in 24.5 overs, by 8 wickets.

Player of the Match: Hriday Mehta of CNMS (Vile Parle) for taking 3 wickets and 1 maiden over.

Bharat C.C., Shivaji Park

Swami Vivekanand Int'l School (Borivali) 132/3 in 25.4 overs (Rudra Tank 53*, Aadesh Rane 43*) beat VPMS Vidyamandir (Dahisar) 131/5 in 35 overs, by 7 wickets.

Player of the Match: Rudra Tank of Swami Vivekanand Int'l School (Borivali) for scoring 53 runs off 72 balls (not out) and 1 wicket.

BMC, Shivaji Park

Dr. Antonio D'Silva (Dadar) 419/3 in 36 overs (Pranay Rana 137*, Pranav Gupta 75) beat IES Raja Shivaji Vidyalaya (Dadar) 119/10 in 31.4 overs, by 300 runs

Player of the Match: Pranay Rana for scoring 137 off 102 balls (not out)

Mahim Juvenile, Shivaji Park

Lokpuram Public School (Thane) 164/5 in 35.1 overs (Aarya Padale 37*, Yash Salian 35) beat Sane Guruji Eng. Med.School 163/10 in 33 overs, by 5 wickets.

Player of the Match: Aarya Padale of Lokpuram Public School (Thane) for scoring 37 not out.

Youths Own Union, Cross Maidan

Ryan International ICSE (Malad) 239/9 in 35 overs (Heet Shah 37*, Dhruva Dafda 14) beat Rustomjee International (Dahisar) 224/9 in 40 overs, by 15 runs.

Player of the Match: Dhruva Dafda of Ryan International ICSE (Malad) for taking 3 wickets.