Rohit, bowlers seal series victory in Lauderhill

Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bat first in Florida. India made no changes to the side that won on Saturday while the hosts brought Khary Pierre in place of opener John Campbell.

Rohit and Dhawan got off to a cautious start with India scoring just 9 from the first two overs. West Indies lost their review in the very first over when Oshane Thomas appealed for a caught-behind against Dhawan.

Rohit and Dhawan both upped the ante in the third over, getting a boundary each against Oshane Thomas. Sheldon Cottrell was also taken to the cleaners - two Rohit Sharma lofted drives over the inner-circle ensured that India ended the fourth over with 34/0 on the board.

Rohit took matters in his own hands as Keemo Paul was first flicked for a six and then swept for a four as India finished the Powerplay with 52 runs.

Brathwaite persisted with Keemo Paul, who, in his second over, sent Shikhar Dhawan packing. India lost their first wicket in the 8th over with 67 on the board as skipper Virat Kohli joined Rohit Sharma.

The fall of Dhawan did not stop Rohit from accelerating. He smashed Narine over mid-wicket to top the list for most sixes in T20Is - overhauling Chris Gayle. A single in the same over ensured Rohit completed his fifty at Florida.

Skipper Kohli wasted no time - he was quick to get his first six when an overpitched Khary Pierre delivery sailed over his own head. Rohit got India past the 100-run mark in style - a flick off Brathwaite for a maximum.

The Indian vice-captain was going fine until an Oshane Thomas delivery hit him on his elbow. A little lapse in concentration saw Rohit mistiming a short ball that brought an end to his 67-run knock.

Oshane Thomas struck again in quick-time as Rishabh Pant fell for four trying to clear the man at third-man. Virat Kohli’s 28-run knock also came to an end as Sheldon Cottrell uprooted his middle stump.

Krunal Pandya, at number six, joined Manish Pandey as India aimed to finish on a high. Sheldon Cottrell, however, had different plans as Pandey was dismissed caught behind with India being reduced to 143/5 in the 19th over.

Krunal Pandya unleashed his best in the final over when he smashed Keemo Paul for two back-to-back sixes. Ravindra Jadeja also managed to clear the fence once as the duo collected 20 runs off the 20th over to lift India to 167/5.

Chasing 168 to keep the series alive, the hosts had a horrendous start. Evin Lewis was caught and bowled off Bhuvneshwar Kumar for nought while Sunil Narine was cleaned up by Washington Sundar. West Indies were struggling at 8/2 with Pooran and Rovman Powell trying to resurrect the innings.

Nicholas Pooran consumed time to settle in as the Men in Maroon ended the Powerplay on 25/2. Rovman Powell kept the scoreboard moving by attacking Khaleel Ahmed. In the 9th over, Powell smashed Sundar for a six off the very first ball to take the West Indian score past the fifty-run mark.

The duo ensured no wickets with Windies needing 106 from the final ten overs. Krunal was smart with his variations, darting most of them to build pressure on the Windies pair. Powell got to his fifty in just 30-balls to keep the chase alive.

Krunal Pandya ensured India was right back in it when he first ended Nicholas Pooran’s struggle as Manesh Pandey completed a fine juggling catch at the boundary rope. Pooran’s 34-ball 19-run knock put pressure on Powell who was trapped in front of the stumps in the same over.

Jadeja came in to bowl for the first time in the 15th over with grey clouds surrounding Fort Lauderdale. The players came off due to a lightning warning with West Indies needing 70 from the final 4.3 overs. The heavens opened and play never resumed. India won the second T20I by 22 runs (D/L Method).

The final T20I will be played in Guyana on Tuesday.