T20WC 2024 | USAvIND: Old friends, new rivalry, and a Super-8 spot for grabs

By Mumbai Indians

Prepare for a monumental clash as the USA plays host to the on-a-roll Indian cricket team for the first time in the history of cricket. This T20I contest, scheduled for Wednesday (June 12), is not just a unique event but a historic moment that will be etched in the memories of cricket enthusiasts. 

It’s a thrilling fixture on paper — a rookie team that exudes giant-slaying capabilities against a side that triumphed in the inaugural T20 World Cup. This clash promises high-octane action and intense competition.

As the match unfolds, fans will be captivated by the masterful skills of players like Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, and Hardik Pandya from India. But the spotlight will also be on the Indian-born-and-bred cricketers in the USA squad, such as Monank Patel, Saurabh Netravalkar, and Harmeet Singh, who have been pivotal in the team’s ascent in T20I cricket. Most of them would've seen the Indian cricketers up and close during their age-group cricket days and would be itching to prove a point or two.

Another familiar face who will take the field tomorrow is Corey Anderson. The former NZ star-turned-US cricketer donned the MI Blue and Gold between 2014 and 2016, and he will rub shoulders with some old friends.

What: India vs USA

When: Wednesday, June 12, 2024

Where: Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York

What to look forward to: A mid-week cricket fiesta. Full-house support for the USA and India. Player matchups of Rohit Sharma against Saurabh Netravalkar (the old Mumbai clash) and Steven Taylor against Jasprit Bumrah, an unpredictable pitch, and one team virtually confirming their Super Eight spot.

What you need to do: Let your energy take over Nassau County. Stay hydrated for the early morning game. Keep your pulse meters ready to calm your racing hearts and back the Men in Blue with your electric songs.

USA vs India: Stat check


Most runs in T20Is

Most wickets in T20Is


Virat Kohli - 4042 Runs

Yuzvendra Chahal - 96 Wickets


Steven Taylor - 754 Runs

Saurabh Netravalkar - 29 Wickets


India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj. Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan

USA: Monank Patel (captain), Aaron Jones (vice-captain), Andries Gous, Corey Anderson, Ali Khan, Harmeet Singh, Jessy Singh, Milind Kumar, Nisarg Patel, Nitish Kumar, Noshtush Kenjige, Saurabh Nethralvakar, Shadley Van Schalkwyk, Steven Taylor, Shayan Jahangir. Reserve Players: Gajanand Singh, Juanoy Drysdale, Yasir Mohammad