IPL 2020 moves to United Arab Emirates

The 2020 season of the Indian Premier League has been shifted to the United Arab Emirates due to the ongoing pandemic. According to the BCCI, the tournament is scheduled to take place from September 19 to November 10 with matches to start at 3:30 PM IST and 7:30 PM IST respectively.

Dubai, Abu Dhabi & Sharjah will host all the matches of the 2020 edition of IPL. In 2014, the first-half of the tournament was moved to UAE due to the General Assembly Elections. While in 2009 the entire tournament was played in South Africa.

Earlier, the IPL was scheduled to take place from 29th March before it was postponed due to the pandemic. With the cases rising in India, BCCI has taken the decision to move the tournament to UAE.

Here's the official statement from BCCI Honorary Secretary, Jay Shah:

The Indian Premier League Governing Council (IPL GC) met today via video-conference to decide on the issues concerning the VIVO IPL 2020 edition. Taking note of the prevailing COVID-19 situation in India, the IPL GC decided to stage the tournament in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and the matches will be played in Dubai, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi subject to necessary clearances from the Government of India.

VIVO IPL 2020 will be played from 19th September and the final will be played on 10th November 2020. The 53-day tournament will witness 10-afternoon matches starting at 15:30 IST while the evening matches will start at 19:30 IST.

The Governing Council also discussed the comprehensive Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs), which will be finalised and published in due course, including the agencies to execute and deliver a bio-secure environment for safe and successful conduct of IPL 2020 Season.

The Governing Council also reviewed the Player Regulations for replacement player for 2020 season.

Women’s T20 Challenge will also take place in the UAE and will comprise three teams with four matches to be played during the IPL Playoff week.

A meeting with the Franchises will be called shortly.