MI Junior Inter-school cricket tournament: Sudhan, Atharva, Aryan and others shine for their teams

By Mumbai Indians

Sudhan Sundarraj, Atharva Dhond, Aryan Pawar and others produced match-winning performances for their respective teams in the ongoing MI Junior inter-school cricket tournament on Wednesday.

Sudhan Sundarraj (6-18) and Atharva Dhond (189 off 103) starred for Rizvi Springfield High School (Khar) and IES New English School (Bandra) respectively, in the Boys’ U-14 category.

Sudhan's stellar six wicket-haul (6-18) dismantled Tarapor Vidyamandir (Palghar) for just 117 runs, which was chased down by Rizvi Springfield in 17 overs by losing just one wicket and Aayudh Mohanty scoring a fine fifty (57*).

On the other hand, Atharva’s scintillating ton led IES New English to a mammoth total of 441 runs, with Harsh Kadam providing ample support from the other end, scoring a brilliant 119 off 100 balls. Opponents Swami Vivekanand’s innings never took steam, and were bowled out for 81 runs, with Anish Tambe taking 2-0.

In the U-16 category, Aryan Pawar (114 off 87) was the star of the day, scoring an excellent ton to guide Lakshdham High School (Goregaon) to a decent total of 270. St. Xavier’s School (Airoli) were bowled out for 120, giving Lakshdham a commanding 150-run victory.

Riding on Ujwal Singh's fine fifty (63) and Tanmay More's crucial three wicket (3-22), Kanchan High School (Nallasopara) beat Ryan International School (Nallasopara) by 127 runs after bowling them out for 79 runs in another Boy's U-16 match.

Dhirubhai Ambani International School (Bandra) won by walkover against Smt. Taramai Vartak Memorial Academy (Virar) in another Boy's U-16 match.

Meanwhile, Saish Bobhate's sensational bowling effort (6-12) helped Yashodham High School (Goregaon) bundle out SIWS High School (Wadala) for just 28 runs in a Boy's U-14 match. Yashodham team then chased down the paltry total without losing any wicket.

KC Gandhi School (Kalyan) won by walkover against Saraswati Vidhyalaya (GB Road) in another Boy's U-14 match.

Raj Doshi's brilliant fifer (5-25) led Vibgyor High School ICSE (Goregaon) to clinical 8-wicket win over SIWS High School (Wadala), who were bowled out for 80 runs in a Boy's U-16 match.

In another Boy's U-16 match, Aryansh Singh (3-22) and Shaurya Sharan (39) led Swami Vivekanand International School (Kandivali) to 7-wicket win over Pawar Public School (Bhandup), who were bowled out for just 68 runs.

Elsewhere, Durgesh Yadav's brilliant fifer (5-26) led National Kannada High School (Wadala) to eight-wicket win over RJ Thakor High School (Thane), who were bowled out for 100 runs in a Boy's U-14 match.

Brief Scores:


SIWS High School (Wadala) 28 all out in 9.5 overs (Saish Bobhate 6-12) lost to Yashodham High School (Goregaon) 29/0 in 1.2 overs

Player of the match: Saish Bobhate

KC Gandhi School (Kalyan) won by walkover against Saraswati Vidhyalaya (GB Road)

RJ Thakor High School (Thane) 100 all out in 18.2 overs (Mayang Panchal 28; Durgesh Yadav 5-26) lost to National Kannada High School (Wadala) 101/2 in 14.2 overs (Abdul Basith 26)

Player of the match: Durgesh Yadav

IES New English School (Bandra) 441/4 in 37 overs (Atharva Dhond 189, Harsh Kadam 119) (including 78 penalty runs) beat Swami Vivekanand High School (Chembur) 81 all out in 21.5 overs (Anish Tambe 2-0)

Player of the match: Atharva Dhond

Tarapor Vidyamandir (Palghar) 117 all out in 29.4 overs (Manthan Patel 28; Sudhan Sundarraj 6-18) lost to Rizvi Springfield High School (Khar) 118/1 in 17 overs (Aayudh Mohanty 57*).

Player of the match: Sudhan Sundarraj


Lakshdham High School (Goregaon) 270 all out in 33 overs (Aryan Pawar 114, Tirth Vanarase 77; Pranav Madhavi 3-38, Vedant Doke 3-46) beat St. Xavier’s School (Airoli) 120/9 in 21 overs (Shreyas Baing 50; Shamik Shettigar 2-10). 

Player of the match: Aryan Pawar 

Kanchan High School (Nallasopara) 206/7 in 39 overs (Ujwal Singh 63) beat Ryan International School (Nallasopara) 79 all out in 28.1 overs (Tanmay More 3-22)

Player of the match: Ujwal Singh

Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Vidyalaya (Vikhroli) Anjuman-I-Islam Urdu High School (Turbhe) 

Dhirubhai Ambani International School (Bandra) won by walkover against Smt. Taramai Vartak Memorial Academy (Virar)

SIWS High School (Wadala) 80 all out in 18.4 overs (Raj Doshi 5-25) lost to Vibgyor High School ICSE (Goregaon) 81/2 in 8.5 overs.

Player of the match: Raj Doshi

Pawar Public School (Bhandup) 68 all out in 28.5 overs (Yatharth Yadav 3-10, Aryansh Singh 3-22) lost to Swami Vivekanand International School (Kandivali) 71/3 in 9.4 overs (Shaurya Sharan 39)

Player of the match: Aryansh Singh