Seven players released by Mumbai Indians ahead of IPL 2021

Defending champions Mumbai Indians have released as many as seven names which include Sri Lankan great Lasith Malinga, Kiwi quick Mitchell McClenaghan, Australian Nathan Coulter-Nile and his countryman James Pattinson, their Guyanese all-rounder Sherfane Rutherford, uncapped leg-spinner Prince Balwant Rai and fast bowler Digvijay Deshmukh from the team for the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League.

The defending champions, who won a record fifth title in 2020, now have 18 players in their squad with seven spots open which can be filled in the mini-auction.

This also means that MI can go and pick as many as four overseas players for the next season.

Core retained:

There was never a doubt about the retention of their core strength which enabled them to lift the IPL trophy in back-to-back seasons.

The batting looks formidable with skipper Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock at the top. Hard-hitting Australian batsman Chris Lynn is a solid back-up option for the Men in Blue & Gold.

MI’s uncapped batsmen have performed exceptionally well in the middle order. Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan will hold the mantle for number three and four while the likes of 2010 Emerging Player of the Season Saurabh Tiwary, Punjab batter Anmolpreet Singh and Mumbai veteran Aditya Tare serve as dependable middle order options. Not to forget, Tare along with de Kock and Kishan, is a full-time wicket-keeper too.

We all know the importance of all-rounders in the shortest format and MI has a few noteworthy match winners here too. Fan-favorite Kieron Pollard, rockstar Hardik Pandya and his brother Krunal Pandya will be ready for another season of fireworks.

Apart from Krunal Pandya and Rahul Chahar having led the spin department for MI with consistent wickets in the middle overs, Rohit has a few gems on his bench too.

Haryana's Jayant Yadav and 2018 U-19 hero Anukul Roy serve as exciting options in the dugout.

Boom Boom Bumrah and Trent Boult will return for another season of new ball magic.

Local boy Dhawal Kulkarni and UP’s left-arm sensation Mohsin Khan are the domestic options for Mahela’s men.

With Malinga, Pattinson, NCN and Mitch released, MI will on the lookout for strengthening their bowling squad in the upcoming IPL auction.

Retained players -

Rohit Sharma, Quinton de Kock (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (WK), Chris Lynn, Anmolpreet Singh, Saurabh Tiwary, Aditya Tare (WK)

Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Anukul Roy

Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult, Rahul Chahar, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mohsin Khan

Released players:
Lasith Malinga, Mitch McClenaghan, James Pattinson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Sherfane Rutherford, Prince Balwant Rai, Digivijay Deshmukh